Latest News

Stay Up to Date

Subscribe to the newsletter.


2015 Preservation Achievement Awards

Preservation Dallas presented the 16th Annual Preservation Achievement Awards on April 8th at the Scottish Rite Cathedral in downtown Dallas. The event recognized outstanding efforts to preserve the historic places of Dallas and those persons or organizations who have contributed to the preservation of the city’s history and places. Kourtny Garret of Downtown Dallas Inc. served as Master of Ceremony for the event. The Awards event was followed by a reception in the Crystal Ballroom at the Cathedral.

Click through our photo album of the winners and ceremony below!


2015 Preservation Achievement Awards

Special Tribute

At the awards a special tribute was given to Swiss Avenue Historic District for its pioneering role as the first historic district in Dallas. David Preziosi, Executive Director of Preservation Dallas commented “before the Swiss Avenue Historic District was established in 1973 it was almost destroyed by high-rise development and disinvestment. The homeowners at that time banded together to protect the incredible neighborhood and through historic district status and many years of investment by property owners the historic district is now the crown jewel of east Dallas. It stands as the finest example of an early 20th century planned neighborhood with an eclectic mix of houses representing virtually every popular residential design style of the day. The Swiss Avenue Historic District is truly a success story and one that blazed a trail for other future historic districts in Dallas to follow.” Hear more about the Swiss Avenue Historic District by watching the video below:

2015 Award Recipients

Preservation Dallas gave Preservation Achievement Awards to the following projects:

  • Dallas Farmers Market Shed
  • Davy Crockett Elementary School
  • Kiest Park Pergola
  • 5526 Tremont Street
  • 5215 Milam Street
  • 6915 Lakewood Boulevard
  • 1007 Fort Worth Avenue

Gail Thoma Patterson Award

This year's Gail Thoma Patterson Award goes to the Kiest Park Pergola project.

Special Recognition Awards

In addition, special recognition awards for contributions to preservation were presented.

Craftsmanship Award

  • Davis-Hawn Lumber & Architectural Millworks


Stewardship Award

  • Old Oak Cliff Conservation League


Spirit of Preservation Award

  • Rebuilding Together Greater Dallas


Preservation Education Award

  • Urban Armadillos

The founders of the Historic Preservation League (Preservation Dallas) received the Dorothy Savage Award and you can hear more about that story by watching the video below:

Share this:

You may also like

April 16, 2024

December 27, 2023

February 7, 2023

Subscribe to our Newsletter!

Nominate Information

  • *A formal nomination form will be sent as a followup to this form.