Latest News

Stay Up to Date

Subscribe to the newsletter.


2022 Preservation Achievement Awards

Preservation Dallas’ 50th Anniversary, generous Sponsors and our 300 celebratory guests helped us propel the 23rd annual Awards to be our most successful.  Our ticket holders were excited to put on their formalwear and be treated to an exquisite evening, from beginning to end.  Todd Interests delivered the finest dining experience at The National ballroom and capped the evening with a champagne toast that resonated the clink of preservation.  The crescendo to the toast was our 50th Anniversary film which you can see here.

We are indebted to the leadership of the Awards Committee Chaired by Shawn and Cheryl Todd alongside David Griffin and James Ferrara. The committee members were comprised of some familiar Preservation Dallas friends including Danelle Baldwin Smith, Charles Brower, Harryette Ehrhardt, Catherine Horsey, W. Dwayne Jones, Veletta Lill, Katherine D. Seale, Nancy Shelton, Patrick Todd, Philip Todd and Claudia Worme.

See photographs from the 2022 Awards at The National here.

Award Recipients

We are very proud to announce our 2022 Preservation Achievement Award recipients.

Congratulations to this year’s winning projects!

Continental Gin Building at 3309 Elm Street

FW & D Caboose at Irving Heritage Park

Gibson Grant Cabin in Flower Mound

Highland Park Presbyterian Church at 3821 University Boulevard

Magdalen House at 4513 Gaston Avenue

Music Hall at Fair Park

Purse Building at 601 Elm Street

Struck House at 1923 North Edgefield Avenue

5028 Milam Street


In addition, we presented special recognition awards for contributions to preservation.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients!

Remembering Black Dallas, Inc. will receive the Dorothy Savage Award

Brown Mountain Art & Antique Restoration will receive the Craftsmanship Award

Sparkman/Hillcrest Mausoleum & Memorial Park will receive the Stewardship Award

Connie Harris will receive the Spirit of Preservation Award

Hall of State will receive the Gail Thoma Paterson Award

Jack Drake will receive a Preservation Education Award

Alan Govenar’s “Give the World a Smile Each Day” documentary will receive a Preservation Education Award

Legacies Journal will receive a Preservation Education Award

Jim Foster/Pioneers of Dallas Facebook will receive a Preservation Education Award



Platinum Sponsors


Katherine D. Seale



Gold Sponsors


Charles Stevens Dilbeck Architecture Conservancy


Mary and Albert Huddleston





Silver Sponsors


David Griffin & Company Realtors

Hamilton Properties Corporation

Hill & Wilkinson

Matthews Southwest

McCoy Collaborative Preservation Architecture

Wildcat Management


Bronze Sponsors

Caroline and Brian Haley


David Nichols

Echelon Leadership



Macy and Gordon Huddleston

Nancy B. Shelton

Orr-Reed Wrecking Co.


Wendy and Charles Brower


50th Anniversary Honoree Film Sponsored By

Dorothy Savage Award for Remembering Black Dallas Sponsored By

Amy Talkington and Harryette Ehrhardt

Gail Thomas Patterson Award for Hall of State Sponsored By

The Patterson Family

Jim Foster’s Pioneers of Dallas Education Award Sponsored By

Danelle Baldwin Smith

Brown Mountain Art & Antique Restoration’s Craftsmanship Award Sponsored By

Siebler Historic Preservation & Remodeling

Jack Drake’s Education Award Sponsored By

Connie Harris’ Spirit of Preservation Award Sponsored By

Carol Roark

Alan Govenar’s Education Award Sponsored By

Legacies Journal Education Award Sponsored By

Nancy Marcus

Sparkman/Hillcrest’s Stewardship Award Sponsored By

Eugene McDermott Foundation


Print Sponsor



Lynn Vogt


Share this:

You may also like

December 27, 2023

February 7, 2023

August 18, 2022

Subscribe to our Newsletter!

Nominate Information

  • *A formal nomination form will be sent as a followup to this form.