Greenway Parks is a significant Dallas neighborhood for its distinctively platted design in 1927 by David R. Williams as the first pedestrian oriented neighborhood in Dallas, with its unique park-like setting. The developer of Greenway Parks, Frank Neal Drane, purchased the land located just west of the Dallas North Tollway and north of Mockingbird Lane in 1925. Drane hired Williams, an architect known for his Texas Regionalist style, to design a plan to suit the 150 acres of land. The large lots, tree-lined streets, and private parks make this National Historic Register nominee neighborhood a Dallas gem! Porter Lindsley of J.W. Lindsley, the sales agents of Greenway Parks stated, “Greenway Parks is more than just another addition—it is the evolution of a wholly modern idea, one strikingly unique and the first exclusive residential section of its kind ever opened in the South”( The Dallas Morning News, 1927). The collection of early 20th century one- and two-story residences is built along the pattern of English commons facing shared greenways.
A variety of important businessmen, educators, and philanthropists made their residence in Greenway Parks including Edmund J. and Louise Kahn (5318 Drane Dr.). Edmund Kahn a former president of the Dallas Cotton Exchange and later independent oil producer served as chair of the Dallas City Planning Commission and established the Dallas County Community College District. Louise Kahn was an officer of the Historic Preservation League and a member of the Dallas Historic Landmark Committee. During their lives the Kahns contributed over $20 million dollars to foster education and the arts in Texas.
Ben Lipshy (5381 Nakoma) along with his brother in law, Morris B. Zale established the Zale Jewelry business. Mr. Lipshy later became president of the company in 1957 expanding the company’s retail stores and became the first retail jeweler to buy rough diamonds directly from the DeBeers Cartel.
Dr. Norman R. Crozier (5414 Drane Dr.) served as superintendent of the Dallas Independent School District (1924- 1940) and was responsible for the construction of 27 new schools and additions to 17 others. The Dallas Technical School was renamed Norman R. Crozier Technical High School in 1942 to honor his enduring legacy.
John M. Stemmons known as a faithful patriarch of the City of Dallas, joined ranks with his father, Leslie Allison Stemmons, in the Industrial Properties Corporation in 1931. In 1939, John Stemmons developed the over ten-thousand acres of land in Trinity Levee district to control the Trinity River. Here railways and roads were built along with US Hwy 35-E (1959), known as Stemmons Freeway. The area which was once a flood plain now is referred to as “Stemmons business corridor” and is the site of the Industrial District, Dallas Market Center, and the Design District.
Architecturally, Greenway Parks encompasses the styles of seven decades including romantic revival storybook styles of the 1920s, Modern ranch residences of the 1950s, and the large European-inspired residences of the late 1990s. Houses of architectural significance include those by famed architects Howard Meyer, David R. Williams, Charles Dilbeck, and builders Fooshee and Cheek. Greenway Parks was made a City of Dallas Conservation District in May of 2003, a tribute to its outstanding architecture and planning.
Author: Sarah Sibly
Editor: Michael Hazel
Photos: Discover Dallas! volunteers